top of page
  • Writer's pictureskysheffield

Anonymous: ZALORA in Management


Company name and location of internship: ZALORA Malaysia

Which year did you do your internship? 1st Year

At what point in your academic journey did you do your internship? Summer of my 1st Year

Which field was your internship in? Supplier management

How long was your internship? 3 months

Was your internship a location-based or virtual? Virtual


 

What was the application process like?

The application process was rather smooth-sailing. I applied for my Marketplace Onboarding intern role through linked in and got contacted by the HR of ZALORA two weeks after to arrange for an official interview. The whole process took about 3 weeks.


What attracted you to the company for internship?

Covid-19: I was always curious about how E-commerce platform works and how ZALORA manages to operate in six different countries. Besides that, I was even more interested in working in E-commerce knowing that the demand for online shopping has significantly

increased during the pandemic.


What did you enjoy the most about your internship?

The support and help that my team has provided me throughout my internship. Although I did not meet my colleagues in person but I enjoyed the morning team meetings, it motivated me to work harder on my work for the day.


What did you enjoy the least about your internship?

Sometimes when I face a problem at my work, it can be quite frustrating because it is harder to reach my colleagues for help since it needs to be all done via message, not face to face.


What is the typical working day like?

Start work at 9am to 6pm from Monday to Friday. Since everyone is still working from home, there will be daily team meetings in the morning to update each other on our own work progress and raise any question or issues faced. Then we would move on to our own daily tasks. My daily tasks includes the updating and managing of onboarding database, the assigning of training to sellers from different countries and the follow up with different Brands to allow a smooth Onboarding process on ZALORA marketplace platform.


What tasks were assigned to you during your internship?

During my tenure with ZALORA, I was assigned to two small projects while managing my daily tasks. The first project was mainly dealing with payment blocks of merchants in consultation with the Finance department and the second project is where I had to be in contact with different sellers on their onboarding process and assist them to go onboard successfully.


What was the most challenging part of your internship?

To be in contact with unsatisfied sellers and helping them to solve their issues.


How did the experience benefit your career in the future?

Mainly communication skills, it is so important to communicate effectively with colleagues and also clients.


Any advice you would like to give to the others who are looking for internship?

Go out of your comfort zone, this experience had zero relation to what I am studying and I went for a position that was very unfamiliar to me, but you will never know what is in store for you out there if you never try. Just do it :)


 

Rate your overall internship experience: 4/5

How much did you learn during the internship? 4/5

How was the general atmosphere during your internship? 3/5

How difficult is the internship application process? 2/5

How valuable is your internship opportunities in deciding your future career path? 4/5

Are you satisfied with the salary you got from the internship? 4/5

How were the networking/social event opportunities? 3/5

To what extent did you feel being valued during the internship? 4/5


 

Would you recommend this internship to a friend and why?

Yes because the onboarding process for ZALORA was really interesting. You will have an insight on the front-end and back-end of an e-commerce platform.

bottom of page